15 Degrees Skyward: Prelude to Dreams

“Dad – ”

“Mom – ”

“I made a friend today…”

 

“What’s your name?”

“I want to write – ”

“I want to draw – ”

 

“Let me write for you – ”

“Let me draw for you – ”

 

Her freckles were black. That’s what caught my eye. I still can’t stop staring at them…

His hair was pretty. That’s what gave me pause. Even now, my fingers itch to touch it…

 

“Let me dream with you…”

How they met was never something they deemed a profound moment in their lives. It was just something that happened in the throes of dozens of memories they’d charted amongst the stars in their shared sky. Where people who were as intimately entwined as they were could mark their lives in moments, they simply flowed with the passage of time.  Something always had to remain in the outline, in the rough sketch and never make it into the final piece. A piece that remained unfinished for years up until this moment. This singular silent moment where the hush of rain falling against the iron of the balcony lulled the occupants into a welcomed trance.

Eyes meeting. Hand in Hand. Squeeze tight.

He blinked languidly, eyes dazed as he traced the little black flecks across her nose.  She parted her lips, breathing out a sigh as she threaded her fingers through his hair.

They were alone. They were safe.

“Hey?” he broke the silence.

Her eyes met his.

“One more time?”

A slow blink was her response and for a while they remained still, gazing at each other in deliberation. She shifted closer and so did he until noses brushed and forehead pressed together. There was a time when they didn’t have to be this close…  The distance between them had weakened them, had damaged them.

“One more time…” she whispered.

Dream with me…

To Episode One: At Dusk 


Author Notes: Welcome to 15 Degrees Skyward, the new serial as promised. I hope it’s piqued your interest and that you’ve become curious. I’m mostly doing this to practice writing and because I don’t particularly want to publish this one yet still wanted to share. I’ll be updating this every Friday. The first “Episode” will be this Friday (June 16) to kick off my birthday. I hope you enjoy it and I hope you leave comments and come back for more! See you next time!!!

-Harli V. Park-

3 thoughts on “15 Degrees Skyward: Prelude to Dreams

  1. Dear Harli, I will try my best to give you the feedback you deserve, because I really like what you’ve done here. I like the atmosphere that you’ve built through your words. The way you put the smallest details just to prolong this moment in time. The overall way you made the images feel so vivid and heartwarming. Thank you for sharing this piece with us. Hope to see more of it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: 15 Degrees Skyward: At Dusk | The Cerebral Hedonist

Harli Listens (Leave a Reply)

